HPU faculty and staff members honored for service to the university

Martha Fothergill - award 2018 2

Corey Ash - award 2018BROWNWOOD – May 4, 2018 – Members of Howard Payne University’s faculty and staff were recently honored at an annual personnel recognition luncheon held on the HPU campus. Corey Ash, associate professor of music and director of bands, was named the Outstanding Faculty Member for the 2017-2018 academic year, and Martha Fothergill, coordinator of records and reports, was presented the Outstanding Staff Member award.

The outstanding faculty and staff member awards are made possible by Underwood’s Cafeteria and Porter Insurance Agency, respectively.

Certificates recognizing excellence in teaching were presented to Mike Dillard, assistant professor of business administration; Dan Humeniuk, assistant professor of social work and chair of HPU’s Department of Social Work and Sociology; and Dr. Kristen Hutchins, associate professor of biology.

Certificates recognizing excellence in service were presented to staff members Jeremy Hogue, database administrator; and Katrina Lynn, business and human resources coordinator.

A special plaque commemorating retirement after 38 years of service to the university was presented to Mary Dunham, collection organization and management librarian and assistant professor of library science.

Also receiving awards were:

Five years of service – Wes Contreras, assistant director of admissions; Roger Dewell, maintenance supervisor; Ethan Fisher, financial accountant; Dr. Graham Hatcher, professor of kinesiology; Dr. Kevin Kelley, department chair and associate professor of psychology; Lori Kelley, assistant professor of government; Dr. Melody Maxwell, assistant professor of Christian studies; Dr. Dan Pryor, associate professor of business; Dale Ross, general maintenance – plumber; Josh Snow, director of student activities; Joey Withers, grounds lawn maintenance foreman; Randy Yeakley, vice president for development; and Dr. Craig Younce, department chair and associate professor of biology.

Ten years of service – Tammy Arreola, career services coordinator; Gretchen Campbell, executive assistant for student life and cheerleading coordinator; Toni Damron, assistant professor of social work; James Darby, adjunct in kinesiology; Dr. Kristen Hutchins, associate professor of biology; Alexa Maddox, academic services coordinator and instructor of developmental studies; and Larry Meadows, adjunct in business administration.

Fifteen years of service – Martha Fothergill, coordinator of records and reports.

Twenty years of service – Kathy Hagood, associate professor of English; Scott Owen, assistant professor of kinesiology; Diann Prickett, gift processing and prospect research associate; and Dr. Julie Welker, department chair and professor of communication.

Twenty-five years of service – Dr. Donnie Auvenshine, professor of Christian studies and dean of the School of Christian Studies; and Eydie Henderson, administrative assistant for the School of Christian Studies.

Cutlines: Corey Ash (third from left), recipient of the Outstanding Faculty Member Award, is pictured with Jill Underwood (left), Paul Underwood (second from left) and Dr. Bill Ellis, HPU president (right). The Outstanding Faculty Member Award is made possible by Underwood’s Cafeteria.

Martha Fothergill (center) recipient of the Outstanding Staff Member Award is pictured with Robert Porter (left) and Dr. Bill Ellis, HPU president. The Outstanding Staff Member Award is made possible by Porter Insurance Agency.