Recent News News Archives News Categories

HPU honors students and alumni for national success in Moot Court

McNiece and Ellis with Moot Court National ChampsBROWNWOOD – April 16, 2018 – The Board of Directors for Howard Payne University’s Guy D. Newman Honors Academy held its regular meeting and luncheon recently, during which a resolution was read honoring four individuals for national success in Moot Court.

Dr. Bill Ellis, HPU president, and Dr. Matthew McNiece, director of the Honors Academy and chair and professor of history and government, presented framed copies of the resolution to HPU’s Moot Court national champions. Receiving the honor were students Jordan Hahn, sophomore from Burnet, and Isaac Sommers, senior from Boerne, as well as 2002 HPU graduates Lorianna (Anderson) Kelley and Rob Welker. Kelley now serves on HPU’s faculty as assistant professor of government and Moot Court adviser.

In 1993, HPU was a founding member of the Texas Undergraduate Moot Court Association. Kelley and Welker were named national champions for Oral Advocacy in 2002, and Hahn and Sommers were Brief Writing national champions in January 2018.

“HPU’s Moot Court program has enhanced the traditional and experiential education of well over 200 students since its inception,” said Dr. McNiece. “We’re proud to recognize the remarkable achievements of our past and present Moot Court students.”

Applications are being accepted for the fall 2018 semester at Howard Payne University. HPU offers a variety of financial aid options. For more information about HPU, contact HPU’s Office of Admission at 325-649-8020 or by e-mail at


Cutline: HPU recently honored four individuals for national success in Moot Court. Left to right: Dr. Matthew McNiece, Jordan Hahn, Lorianna Kelley, Rob Welker, Isaac Sommers and Dr. Bill Ellis.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on tumblr
Share on email