Recent News News Archives News Categories

HPU enjoys great success with inaugural North Texas Alumni Golf Tournament

BROWNWOOD – August 17, 2022 – Howard Payne University’s inaugural HPU North Texas Alumni Golf Tournament was a sold-out success with 36 teams participating. The capacity crowd of HPU alumni, friends and personnel gathered to network, enjoy a round of golf and support the university, with proceeds designated for student scholarships. Presented by Waldrop Construction, the event was held on June 20 at the Cowboys Golf Course in Grapevine.

The first-place team included Cody Hambrick ’11, Hunter Sims, Corey Ottmers and Jason Bachtel ’03. Second place went to the team of Kevin Doan, Len Hesseltine, Stephen Walls and Kyle Doan. In third place was the team of Chase Brown, Micah Scott, Jared Scott and Cole Loden.

“The tournament was a great time of fun and fellowship, all to support an important cause – student scholarships,” said Dr. Cory Hines ’97, HPU president. “We could not be happier with the turnout and we are already looking forward to next year’s event.”

For Randy Lewallyn ’97, helping to organize the event was a meaningful way to support his alma mater.

“I was honored to chair the inaugural HPU North Texas Alumni Golf Tournament,” Lewallyn said. “Howard Payne University is a special place because of special people. I enjoyed the opportunity to play a role in bringing members of the HPU family together for a great day of golf in North Texas.”

Hole sponsors included Capin Crouse, LLP; Diamondback Energy; First Baptist Church Burleson; Higginbotham Painter & Johnson Financial; HPU Advancement; HPU Alumni Association; Huf Construction; International Commission; iTeach; Jacket Century Club; and Texas Baptist Missions Foundation. Yellow Jacket Sponsors included Sam Anderson; Brad Andrews; Rodney and Bobbette Bell ’87; Dr. Greg Bradley ’01; Ky Evans ’73; Derek Frisch ’02; Zach Gingrich ’21; Hannah Gramling ’12; Matt Henry ’91; Glenn Johnson ’75; Bob Knoll ’83; Lone Star Vision; Dr. Josh Myers ’05; Dr. Ben Martin ’04; Woody Martin ’80; Dr. Dale Meinecke ’98; Robin Scotton ’98; Sunflower Bank; and Taylor Zambreski ’11.

Plans are underway for the 2nd Annual North Texas Alumni Golf Tournament to be held on June 5, 2023, at Cowboys Golf Course.


Cutline #1: The team of Cody Hambrick ’11, Corey Ottmers, Jason Bachtel ’03 and Hunter Sims (pictured from left) won first place at HPU’s inaugural North Texas Alumni Golf Tournament.

Cutline #2: At the tournament, Dr. Cory Hines ’97, HPU president (center), visits with (from left) Brian Rogers, Danny Hines, Dr. Chris Liebrum and Kent Harvick.