Recent News News Archives News Categories

HPU personnel recognized for service during 2019-2020

BROWNWOOD – June 11, 2020 – Members of Howard Payne University’s faculty and staff were recently recognized for their service at an annual personnel luncheon held on campus. Dr. Lester Towell, chair of the Department of Computer Information Systems (CIS) and professor of CIS, received the Outstanding Faculty Member Award. Katrina Lynn, business and human resources coordinator, received the Outstanding Staff Member Award for the 2019-2020 year. The outstanding faculty and staff awards are made possible by Underwood’s Cafeteria and Porter Insurance Agency, respectively.

The HPU Facilities Department received the newly-created Outstanding Department Award, recognizing all members of the department for their service.

Certificates recognizing excellence in teaching were presented to Dr. Laci Sutton, assistant professor of nursing; and Dr. Nicholas Ewen, associate professor of theatre.

Certificates recognizing excellence in service were presented to Renee McClung, custodian; and Stephen Lynn, head baseball coach.

The following personnel also received awards:

Five years of service – Anthony Arreola, enterprise systems administrator; Joseph Dunlap, instructor of music; Dr. Jim Finch, professor of business administration; Doris Goacher, part-time digital archives assistant; Whitney Hooper, assistant vice president of the New Braunfels Center; Dr. Elizabeth Mac Crossan, adjunct of English at the New Braunfels Center; Renee McClung, custodian; Amy Pitman, administrative assistant for the School of Christian Studies; Amy Ripple, information services coordinator; Rachel Smith, director of athletic training services; and Sam Wilson, copy center and mailroom coordinator.

Ten years of service – Jill Holamon, administrative assistant for the School of Music and Fine Arts; and Dr. Lauren Kirk, assistant professor of education.

Fifteen years of service – Deborah Dill, director of libraries and assistant professor of library science; Dr. Jodi Goode, assistant vice president for information technology services; and Dr. Rusty Wheelington, professor of Christian studies.

Twenty years of service: Kathy James, events and university calendar coordinator; and Tracy Stansberry, public safety officer – sergeant no. 1.

Twenty-five years of service – Wendy Grooms, associate professor of mathematics; and Bertha Valle; part-time administrative assistant and financial aid coordinator at the El Paso Center.

Thirty years of service – Brenda Brittain, executive assistant to the vice president for academic affairs; Dr. Gerry Clarkson, interim dean of the School of Science and Mathematics, associate professor of physical science, and chair of the Department of Physical Sciences; and Dr. Gary Gramling, dean of the School of Christian Studies, professor of Christian studies and director of Christian studies graduate programs.

Forty years of service – Dr. Robert Mangrum, professor of government and history, and university historian.


Cutline #1: Dr. Lester Towell (second from left), recipient of the Outstanding Faculty Member Award, is pictured with (from left) Dr. Cory Hines, HPU president; Dr. Jill Underwood; and Paul Underwood.

Cutline #2: Katrina Lynn (second from left), recipient of the Outstanding Staff Member Award, is pictured with (from left) Dr. Cory Hines, HPU president; Lanie Spears; Tanner Spears; and Robert Porter.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on tumblr
Share on email

Register to participate in the Alumni Choir Concert on Saturday, Oct. 2.

Alumni Choir Registration
Voice Part