Recent News News Archives News Categories

HPU’s Sigma Beta Delta honor society inducts 12 new members

Sigma Beta Delta 2016BROWNWOOD – March 30, 2016 – Howard Payne University’s chapter of the Sigma Beta Delta International Business Honor Society recently inducted 12 new members into its organization. Jonathan Snow, member of HPU’s Board of Trustees and 2006 graduate, was the keynote speaker for the event.

Inductees included Taylor Armstrong, senior from Coleman; Katie Ash, junior from Brownwood; Hannah Ball, junior from Justin; Blake Biessener, senior from Brownwood; Michael Hazard, junior from Sweetwater; Zachary Eller, senior from Temple; Regina Fleming, senior from Brownwood; Thomas Givan, senior from Early; Jody Loudamy, senior from Goldthwaite; Ely Self, senior from Ballinger; and Austin Throckmorton, junior from Early. Additionally, Dr. Jim Finch, HPU professor of business administration, was inducted as the chapter’s next president.

Snow, who graduated from HPU with a Bachelor of Business Administration degree, spoke to the inductees and audience about the power of self-affirmation and its benefits through confidence and professionalism. He is a professional clothier for Tom James Company in Dallas.

“We’re very grateful that Mr. Snow took time out of his busy schedule to speak at our event,” said Dr. Trissa Cox, outgoing chapter president. “His presentation was very powerful and a good reminder for all of us in attendance.”

Sigma Beta Delta was founded as a national organization in 1994 for NCAA Division III universities and is accredited by the International Assembly for Collegiate Business Education. HPU’s chapter received its charter in 1999.

In addition to Dr. Cox and Dr. Finch, chapter officers include Dr. Debra Powell, assistant professor of business and vice president, and Mike Dillard, assistant professor of business administration and secretary/treasurer.

For more information, contact HPU’s School of Business at (325) 649-8704.


Photo cutline: HPU’s chapter of the Sigma Beta Delta International Business Honor Society recently inducted 12 new members. The inductees are pictured with faculty from HPU’s School of Business who serve as chapter officers. Standing, left to right: Dr. Trissa Cox, Mike Dillard, Ely Self, Katie Ash, Hannah Ball, Michael Hazard, Caleb Throckmorton, Dr. Debra Powell and Dr. Jim Finch.

Seated, left to right: Taylor Armstrong, Blake Biessener, Regina Fleming, Thomas Givan and Jody Loudamy. Not pictured: Zachary Eller.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on tumblr
Share on email