Recent News News Archives News Categories

Texas Senate honors HPU Moot Court team

Moot Court Senate Proclamation for webBROWNWOOD – October 16, 2018 – Texas State Senator Dawn Buckingham has authored Senate Proclamation No. 569 in honor of HPU’s Moot Court program and team members Jordan Hahn, junior from Burnet, and Isaac Sommers, May 2018 graduate from Boerne. Moot Court is a competition during which students participate in the preparation and arguing of cases in front of judges, designed to simulate argument before the Supreme Court of the United States.

Hahn and Sommers, now in his first year at Harvard Law School, brought home numerous Moot Court awards during their time together at HPU. Most notably, the team was named 2018 National Brief Writing Champions, HPU’s second national championship title in the history of collegiate Moot Court.

“HPU is very proud of Jordan and Isaac, and their adviser Professor Lorianna Kelley,” said Dr. Matthew McNiece, director of HPU’s Guy D. Newman Honors Academy and chair and associate professor of history and government. “We’re thankful that the Texas Senate and Senator Buckingham honored them in this prestigious way.”

HPU is now enrolling for the spring 2019 semester. HPU offers a variety of financial aid options, including scholarships for students from Brown County and surrounding counties. For more information about HPU, contact HPU’s Office of Admission at 325-649-8020 or by e-mail at


Cutline: Texas State Senator Dawn Buckingham authored Senate Proclamation No. 569 in honor of HPU’s Moot Court team. Pictured are Jordan Hahn, senior, and Lorianna Kelley, Moot Court adviser and assistant professor of government. Not pictured is Isaac Sommers, May 2018 graduate.