Recent News News Archives News Categories

HPU faculty and staff members honored for service to the university

Members of Howard Payne University’s faculty and staff were recently honored at an annual personnel recognition luncheon held on campus. Dr. Kristen Hutchins, associate professor of biology, received the Outstanding Faculty Member award and Nikki Donathan, cashier and staff accountant, was presented the Outstanding Staff Member award for the 2018-2019 academic year.

The outstanding faculty and staff member awards are made possible by Underwood’s Cafeteria and Porter Insurance Agency, respectively.

Certificates recognizing excellence in teaching were presented to Dr. Kylah Clark-Goff, dean of the School of Education and professor of education, and to Mike Daub, CPA, associate professor of accounting.

Certificates recognizing excellence in service were presented to staff members Katrina Lynn, business and human resources coordinator, and Hunter Sims, athletic director.

Special plaques commemorating retirement and years of service to the university were presented to Glenda Huff, director of financial aid; Lynn Humeniuk, associate professor of criminal justice and sociology and director of the criminal justice program; Dan Humeniuk, assistant professor emeritus of social work; and Dr. Nancy Jo Humfeld, professor emeritus of theatre.

The following individuals also received awards.

Five years of service  Laura Benoit, director of alumni relations; Dr. Magen Bunyard, vice president of student life and dean of students; Dr. Cherri Conley, instructional technology specialist; Sareta Delgado, executive assistant to the vice president for development; Scott Eddy, instructor of mathematics; Dr. Richard Fiese, dean of the School of Music and Fine Arts and professor of music; Dr. Adrian Gil, director of the El Paso Center and associate professor of business; Jeremy Hogue, database administrator; Lori Hurt, accounts payable coordinator; Celeste Justice, administrative assistant to the dean of advising and general education; Rebecca Mendoza-Pate, executive assistant to the vice president for finance; Dr. Nancy Romig, assistant professor of English; Kay Teague, instructor of mathematics; and Colleen Westfall, head women’s volleyball coach

Ten years of service – Kenan Boland, J.D., adjunct faculty for the School of Education; David Foster, assistant softball coach and assistant golf coach; Diane Hackney, custodial services supervisor; Kevin Kirk, associate vice president for enrollment management; Dr. Stephen Kovach, associate professor of Christian studies and criminal justice (El Paso Center); Dr. Jennifer McNiece, assistant professor of government and director of international study and academic travel; Hunter Sims, athletic director; and Jamie Skaggs, part-time university nurse

Fifteen years of service – Deborah Childs, director of university events; Dr. Celeste Church, interim provost and assistant vice president for retention, research and accreditation; Dr. Gregory Church, professor of music; Russell Ezzell, director of network and infrastructure services; Katrina Lynn, business and human resources coordinator; Stephen Lynn, head baseball coach; and Dr. Rodney Stephens, associate professor of English and chair of the department of English

Twenty years of service – Teresa Cavitt, instructor of kinesiology; Abram Choate, assistant director of athletics for communications; Dr. Trissa Cox, professor of computer information systems; and Stephen Goacher, professor of music

Twenty-five years of service  Lynn Humeniuk, associate professor of sociology and director of the criminal justice program; Marsha Larremore, financial aid advisor and grants and scholarships coordinator; Dr. Wendy McNeeley, assistant vice president of university records and dean of general education; Diane Owens, part-time director of the pre-college music program; and Juanita Sypert, library collections and government documents coordinator

Thirty years of service – Mike Daub, CPAassociate professor of accounting


Cutlines: Dr. Kristen Hutchins (third from left), recipient of the Outstanding Faculty Member Award, is pictured with Jill Underwood (left), Paul Underwood (second from left) and Dr. Cory Hines, HPU president (right). The Outstanding Faculty Member Award is made possible by Underwood’s Cafeteria.

Nikki Donathan (third from left), recipient of the Outstanding Staff Member Award, is pictured with Tanner Spears (left), Lanie Spears (second from left) and Dr. Cory Hines, HPU president. The Outstanding Staff Member Award is made possible by Porter Insurance Agency.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on tumblr
Share on email